Linus and Lucy

07Dec10

Christmas is one of my absolute favorite times of the year.

While it tends to make any retail location a zoo and give some people an annual dose of the crazies, I always get ridiculously excited during the holiday season.

This year, the excitement set in even earlier than usual, sometime in early October. Perhaps that’s because this is the first year I got to watch the leaves turn brilliant shades of yellow and read with my boyfriend for the first time. Or because I love that the season revolves around holidays meant for celebrating with friends and family.

What I love most about Christmas though, is the lights. There is nothing more wonderful than waking up at home and drinking coffee by a lit Christmas tree in the early morning, as I would do every December morning in high school. Everything is beautiful during Christmastime; downtown streets and houses  are strung with lights, and churches are filled with poinsettias and candles.

Lights make everything beautiful

It’s also the only time of the year that I openly welcome snow. As a six-year-old, I spent hours on Christmas standing at the window of my mom’s bathroom in our San Antonio house, just because the weatherman said there was a chance of snow. I only moved away when my mom told me that only those people up in Dallas might get snow (which completely warped my understanding of the weather in Dallas for a couple of years incidentally). As a twenty-year-old with little love for the cold or the snow, I still ran outside excitedly minutes before midnight on Christmas, to marvel at the flurries coming down in my Vegas backyard.

Whatever you celebrate, I hope that your Christmas is filled with the joy and wonder that make this season so special.

(Just remember there is such a thing as too many lights)

No Responses Yet to “Linus and Lucy”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

